b + b - EXPIERENCED IN ALL INDUSTRIES

bbautomation > Industries > Pharma > Serialization and labeling of vials

LABELING OF VIALS IN THE PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRY

LABELING | SERIALIZATION | AGGREGATION

Especially powerful, reliable and accurate labelling systems are used for vial labelling. The labelling of pharmaceutical vials is subject to extensive legal requirements. Often a complete documentation is required. Vials are cylindrically shaped glass bottles. They differ in size. Smaller vials are usually filled with vaccine serums, while larger ones are filled with infusions or other pharmaceutical contents.


Quality deviations in drug production can have a direct impact on patients‘ health. For their safety, correct and reliable marking of the vials is essential. Different technologies for coding, identification, labeling and control of the vials often have to interact perfectly in a very small space.

Labeling of vials

Wrap-around labeling

Vials are mainly labeled on the circumference. With wrap-around labelling, precise application of the labels is necessary - especially for labels with fill level scales. Particularly with longer labels, there must be no spiral misalignment. Vials are often provided with so-called booklet labels or documentation labels. Booklet labels are mostly used when a lot of information has to be applied to the product or the same drug is exported to different countries and therefore the information has to be listed in several languages.

Wrap-around labeling of small vials

Wrap-around labeling of large vials

Wrap-around labeling of vials with booklet labels

Labeling system VRM for labeling vials

The b+b labelling system VRM was developed especially for the wrap-around labelling of pharmaceutical vials. The labelling can be done either with the help of a rotary station or a rotary belt. By using the rotary belt a higher number of pieces can be achieved. The vials are transported on a conveyor belt and get separated. The label is applied to the vial via a lateral label dispenser. The vial is rotated by the rotation belt and labeled on the circumference as it passes through.

Labeling of vials with a rotary band

In the case of wrap-around labeling of vials using a rotary station, the vial is stopped. The label is dispensed laterally, applied to the bottle and rotated by a roll for wrap-around labelling.

Labeling of vials with a rotary station

Tamper-evident labeling

Tamper-evident labels and sealing labels give a first opening indication. They are used for tamper-proof design of the vials. They are applied to the vial cap and folded over onto the bottle neck. If the vial is opened, the label is damaged. The closure label cannot be removed from the bottle without leaving residues.

The advantages of the b+b labeling machine for vial labelling

  • Modular design of the labeling system - you can react quickly and flexibly to new labeling requirements in the pharmaceutical industry.

  • Different vial formats and sizes can be labeled with the same labeling system.

  • You benefit from short changeover times, as no tools are required for format changes.

  • Different labeling techniques can optionally be covered with the same labeling system: Wrap-around labeling, tamper-evident labeling and lid labeling of vials.

  • Highest precision in applying the label, even with longer labels there is no spiral offset.

  • Printing of variable data such as best before date, batch data and various codes can be easily implemented in all systems.

Available options of the labeller for vials:

  • Infeed and outfeed turntables in different sizes

  • Feeding and collection of vials by means of trays

  • Additional labeling units, e.g. lid or bottom labeler

  • Label and product inspection by vision systems

  • Label presence check

  • Product ejection

  • Integration of various printing modules

Imprint of variable data

Print labels

Printing variable data on labels is a significant challenge due to the increasing demands on the pharmaceutical industry. Depending on the material and size of the label, print image, resolution and speed, different printing methods are used.

Print vials

Variable data, such as the serial number or batch number, are printed directly on the bottle. The printed data must be waterproof and resistant to solvents. Direct printing on the bottle can be realized with the help of thermal inkjet printers.

> Find out more about printer integrations

Serialization & aggregation

Counterfeit drugs pose a serious threat to the health of patients. To increase security in the supply chain, the EU FMD Directive 2011/62/EU came into force on February 9, 2019. All prescription and some non-prescription drugs must therefore be serialized - this also applies to drugs that are filled in vials.
By integrating appropriate printers into the production line, the data matrix code can be applied to the medicine bottle. The prints are then verified using a vision system. If a vial is incorrectly printed, the vial is rejected into a container via the reject station.


While the serialization of individual packages is required by law, aggregation is not mandatory. Aggregation creates a „mother-child relationship“ between the individual products and the logistics units such as bundles, cartons and pallets. This makes it easier and more transparent to trace the route of the drug.

Single product

Bundles

Carton

First of all, all individual codes of the vials that are to be combined into a packaging unit are recorded. These are then assigned to a superior packaging code.

 

b+b delivers customized turnkey solutions:

  • Serialization and aggregation software

  • Aggregation systems

  • Serialization systems

  • Hybrid systems

The advantages of the b+b solution for serialization and aggregation of vials

The b+b SiteServer is the central database and service application and is the control center of the complete software modules. The software can be adapted to existing and future requirements without large investments: whether for the administration of production lines or locations, the adaptation to new coding and aggregation regulations or an upgrade of the machinery.

Software modules:

  • User and rights management

  • Audit trail (in all modules)

  • Customer / target market management

  • Article management

  • Workorder management/Processorder management

  • Serial number management

  • Line management

  • Interface management

  • Label layout management

> Find out more about b+b serialization software

Systems:

The labeling and serialization system VRM-PV combines labeling and serialization in one system. It was specially developed for the labeling and serialization of vials. The system is an upgrade of the basic VRM system. By integrating printers, vision and control systems and the corresponding software, the serialization of vials can be easily implemented. For the aggregation of vials appropriate aggregation systems of b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik can be used.

> Find out more about serialization and aggregation systems

You are looking for a turnkey solution to label your products - contact us!

b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH

b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH is your partner for innovative and reliable labelling and identification technology made to measure. In 1986 b+b was founded in Airlenbach in the Odenwald. Today the internationally operating company employs 115 people in the field of labelling technology.

 

Your requirements and wishes are our focus when implementing your project. From development and planning to complete implementation, our employees will provide you with optimum support.

 

At b+b you receive the complete solution from one source. From software, printing and dispensing systems to fully automatic labelling and identification systems. For more than 30 years b+b has been supplying complete solutions for labelling, serialisation and aggregation for companies from all industries.

email: info@bb-automation.com

phone: +49 (0) 6068 9310 0

 

supprt hotline: +49 (0) 6068 9310 900

support system:  report support case

address:

b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH

Dieselstraße 18

64760 Oberzent

Germany

© 2019 by b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH. All rights reserved.

  • Facebook - Grau Kreis
  • YouTube - Grau Kreis
  • LinkedIn - Grau Kreis
  • Instagram - Grau Kreis

b+b - IN ALLEN BRANCHEN ZUHAUSE

bbautomation > Branchen > Pharma > Serialisierung und Etikettierung von Vials

KENNZEICHNUNG VON VIALS IN DER PHARMAINDUSTRIE

ETIKETTIEREN | SERIALISIEREN | AGGREGATION

Zur Etikettierung von Vials werden besonders leistungsstarke, zuverlässige und genaue Etikettieranlagen eingesetzt. Die Kennzeichnung von pharmazeutischen Vials unterliegt umfangreichen gesetzlichen Vorgaben. Häufig wird eine lückenlose Dokumentation gefordert. Vials sind zylindrisch geformte Glasflaschen. Sie unterscheiden sich hinsichtlich ihrer Größe. Kleinere Fläschchen sind meist mit Impfseren befüllt, größere hingegen mit Infusionen oder anderen pharmazeutischen Inhalten.


Qualitätsabweichungen in der Arzneimittelproduktion können direkte Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit der Patienten haben. Zu deren Sicherheit ist eine korrekte und zuverlässige Kennzeichnung der Vials essenziell. Unterschiedliche Technologien zum Codieren, zur Identifikation, zur Etikettierung und zur Kontrolle der Vials müssen häufig auf engstem Raum perfekt zusammenspielen.

Etikettierung von Vials

Rundumetikettierung

Vials werden überwiegend am Umfang etikettiert. Bei der Rundumetikettierung ist ein präzises Aufbringen der Etiketten notwendig – insbesondere bei Etiketten, die mit Füllstandsskalen versehen sind. Besonders bei längeren Etiketten darf kein Spiralversatz auftreten. Vials werden häufig mit sogenannten Booklet-Etiketten oder Dokumentationsetiketten versehen. Booklet-Etiketten kommen meist dann zum Einsatz, wenn viele Informationen auf dem Produkt aufgebracht werden müssen oder das gleiche Arzneimittel in verschiedene Länder exportiert wird und somit die Hinweise in mehreren Sprachen aufgeführt werden müssen.

Rundumetikettierung von kleinen Vials

Rundumetikettierung von großen Vials

Rundumetikettierung von Vials mit Bookletetiketten

Etikettiersystem VRM zur Etikettierung von Vials

Die Etikettieranlage VRM von b+b wurde speziell für die Rundumetikettierung von Arzneimittelfläschchen entwickelt. Die Etikettierung kann entweder mit Hilfe einer Drehstation oder eines Rotationsbandes erfolgen. Durch den Einsatz des Rotationsbandes kann eine höhere Stückzahl erreicht werden. Die Fläschchen werden auf einem Transportband befördert und vereinzelt. Das Etikett wird über eine seitliche Spendekante auf das Vial appliziert. Durch das Rotationsband wird das Fläschchen in Rotation versetzt und im Durchlauf am Umfang etikettiert.

Etikettierung von Vials mit Rotationsband

Bei der Rundumetikettierung von Vials unter Einsatz einer Drehstation wird das Arzneimittelfläschchen gestoppt. Das Etikett wird seitlich gespendet, auf der Flasche appliziert und zur Rundumetikettierung durch eine Rolle in Rotation versetzt.

Etikettierung von Vials mit Drehstation

Tamper-Evident-Etikettierung

Verschlussetiketten und Siegeletiketten geben einen Erstöffnungshinweis. Sie dienen zur manipulationssicheren Gestaltung der Vials. Sie werden auf den Vialsdeckel aufgebracht und auf den Flaschenhals umgelegt. Wird das Fläschchen geöffnet wird das Etikett beschädigt. Das Verschlussetikett kann nicht rückstandsfrei von der Flasche abgelöst werden.

Die Vorteile der b+b Etikettiermaschine zur Vialetikettierung

  • Modulare Bauweise der Etikettieranlage – auf neue Kennzeichnungsanforderungen in der Pharmaindustrie können Sie schnell und flexibel reagieren.

  • Unterschiedliche Vialformate und -größen können mit derselben Etikettieranlage etikettiert werden.

  • Sie profitieren von kurzen Umrüstzeiten, da bei Formatwechsel kein Werkzeug benötigt wird.

  • Verschiedene Etikettiertechniken können optional mit derselben Etikettieranlage abgedeckt werden: Rundumetikettierung, Tamper-Evident-Etikettierung und Deckeletikettierung der Vials.

  • Höchste Präzision bei der Aufbringung des Etiketts, auch bei längeren Etiketten entsteht kein Spiralversatz.

  • Aufdruck variabler Daten wie Mindesthaltbarkeitsdatum, Chargendaten und verschiedenste Codes können in allen Anlagen problemlos umgesetzt werden.

Mögliche Optionen der Etikettiermaschine für Vials:

  • Ein- und Auslaufdrehteller in verschiedenen Größen

  • Aufgabe und Sammeln der Vials mittels Trays

  • Zusätzliche Etikettiereinheiten, z.B. Deckel- oder Bodenetikettierer

  • Etiketten- und Produktinspektion durch Kamerasysteme

  • Etikettenanwesenheitskontrolle

  • Produktausschleusung

  • Integration verschiedenster Druckmodule

Aufdruck variabler Daten

Etiketten bedrucken

Variable Daten auf Etiketten zu drucken stellt, aufgrund der steigenden Anforderungen an die Pharmaindustrie, eine große Herausforderung dar. Je nach Material und Größe des Etiketts, Druckbild, Auflösung und Geschwindigkeit kommen unterschiedliche Druckverfahren zum Einsatz.

Vials bedrucken

Variable Daten, wie zum Beispiel die Seriennummer oder Chargennummer, werden direkt auf der Flasche aufgedruckt. Die aufgedruckten Daten müssen wasserfest und beständig gegen Lösungsmittel sein. Der direkte Druck auf die Flasche kann mit Hilfe von Thermo-Inkjet-Druckern umgesetzt werden.

> Weitere Informationen zu Druckern

Serialisierung & Aggregation

Arzneimittelfälschungen stellen für die Gesundheit der Patienten eine ernste Gefahr da. Zur Erhöhung der Sicherheit in der Lieferkette, trat am 09. Februar 2019 die FMD-Richtlinie 2011/62/EU der EU in Kraft. Jedes verschreibungspflichtige und einige nicht verschreibungspflichtige Arzneimittel müssen daher serialisiert werden – dies gilt auch für Arzneimittel, welche in Vials abgefüllt werden. Durch die Integration entsprechender Drucker in die Produktionslinie, kann der Datamatrixcode auf der Arzneimittelflasche aufgebracht werden. Die Drucke werden anschließend über ein Kamerasystem verifiziert. Wird ein Vial falsch bedruckt, wird das Fläschchen über die Ausschleusstation in einen Behälter ausgeschleust.


Während die Serialisierung der Einzelverpackungen gesetzlich vorgegeben ist, ist die Aggregation nicht obligatorisch. Durch die Aggregation wird zwischen den Einzelprodukten und den Logistikeinheiten wie Bündel, Kartons und Paletten eine „Mutter-Kind-Beziehung“ hergestellt. So lässt sich der Weg des Medikaments einfacher und besser nachvollziehen.

Einzelprodukt

Bündel

Karton

Zunächst werden alle Einzelcodes der Vials erfasst, welche zu einer Verpackungseinheit zusammengefasst werden sollen. Diese werden dann einem übergeordneten Verpackungscode zugeordnet.


b+b liefert Ihnen maßgeschneiderte Komplettlösungen:

  • Serialisierungs- und Aggregationssoftware

  • Aggregationssysteme

  • Serialisierungssysteme

  • Hybridsysteme

Die Vorteile der b+b-Lösung zur Serialisierung und Aggregation von Vials

Der b+b SiteServer ist die zentrale Datenbank- und Dienstapplikation und stellt die Schaltzentrale der kompletten Softwaremodule dar. Die Software lässt sich an bestehenden und künftigen Anforderungen ohne große Investitionen anpassen: Sei es für die Verwaltung von Produktionslinien oder Standorten, die Anpassung an neue Codier- und Aggregationsvorschriften oder eine Erweiterung des Maschinenparks.

Softwaremodule:

  • Benutzer- und Rechtemanagement

  • Audit Trail (in allen Modulen)

  • Kunden- / Zielmarktmanagement

  • Artikelmanagement

  • Workorder-Management/Prozessauftragsmanagement

  • Seriennummermanagement

  • Linienmanagement

  • Schnittstellenmanagement

  • Labellayoutmanagement

> Weitere Informationen zur Serialisierungssoftware

Systeme:

Das Etikettier- und Serialisierungssystem VRM-PV vereint Etikettierung und Serialisierung in einer Anlage. Diese wurde speziell für die Etikettierung und Serialisierung von Vials entwickelt. Die Anlage stellt eine Erweiterung der Basisanlage VRM dar. Durch die Integration von Druckern, Kamera- und Kontrollsystemen und der entsprechenden Software, kann die Serialisierung von Vials problemlos umgesetzt werden. Zur Aggregation von Vials können entsprechende Aggregationssysteme der b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik zum Einsatz kommen.

> Weitere Informationen zu Serialisierungs- und Aggregationssysteme

Sie suchen nach einer Komplettlösung zur Etikettierung, Serialisierung und Kennzeichnung Ihrer Produkte - kontaktieren Sie uns!

b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH

Die b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH ist Ihr Partner für innovative und zuverlässige Etikettier- und Kennzeichnungstechnik nach Maß. Im Jahre 1986 wurde die b+b in Airlenbach im Odenwald gegründet. Heute beschäftigt das international agierende Unternehmen 115 Mitarbeiter im Bereich Etikettiertechnik.

 

Ihre Anforderungen und Wünsche stehen bei der Umsetzung Ihres Projekts in unserem Fokus. Von der Entwicklung über die Planung bis hin zur vollständigen Realisierung werden Sie von unseren Mitarbeitern optimal betreut.

 

Bei b+b erhalten Sie die Komplettlösung aus einer Hand. Von der Software über Druck- und Spendesysteme bis hin zu vollautomatischen Etikettier- und Kennzeichnungssystemen. Seit mehr als 30 Jahren liefert  b+b Komplettlösungen zur Etikettierung, Serialisierung und Aggregation von Unternehmen aus allen Branchen.

E-Mail: info@bb-automation.com

Telefon: +49 (0) 6068 9310 0

 

Service-Telefon: +49 (0) 6068 9310 900

Support-Anfrage: Support-Fall melden

Adresse:

b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH

Dieselstraße 18

D-64760 Oberzent

© 2019 by b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH. All rights reserved.

  • Facebook - Grau Kreis
  • YouTube - Grau Kreis
  • LinkedIn - Grau Kreis
  • Instagram - Grau Kreis