b + b - EXPIERENCED IN ALL INDUSTRIES

UFI AND LABELLING OF HAZARDOUS MIXTURES

All you need to know about the Unique Formula Identifier (UFI) | 16.04.2020 | EU Chemicals Regulation CLP

A new labelling requirement for chemicals comes into operation on the CLP Regulation - the clocks are ticking! Inform yourself now, so that the implementation of the new requirements in your company is carried out in due time.
 
A new labelling element will be found on products in 2020: the 16-digit UFI, a unique recipe identifier - this is ensured by the adaptation of the so-called CLP Regulation (EU Chemicals Regulation (EC) No 1272/2008).  The transitional period will end on January 1, 2025: The application of the UFI on the labels of products that may pose health or physical hazards is mandatory. The UFI code enables the poison control centre to clearly identify the product in the event of an emergency call and thus ensure adequate medical advice.

CLP Regulation at a glance

Manufacturers, importers and end-users in the supply chain of products filled with hazardous mixtures must add a 16-digit alphanumeric UFI code to their product identification. This is a unique recipe identifier and must be applied to the product label. 
 
The CLP Regulation is valid throughout the European Economic Area (EEA). This includes all 28 member states as well as Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland. In Switzerland, special regulations apply in addition to the CLP Regulation.

What is UFI (Unique Formula Identifier)?

The UFI is a unique, 16-digit alphanumeric formula identifier. From now on it must be applied to all product labels of hazardous mixtures. The UFI code establishes a link between the mixture and the associated safety information.
In addition to the UFI, the poison control centre must be informed of further information: Composition, trade name, colour, packaging, product category and toxicological information. In this way a clear link can be established between the submitted product information and the product placed on the market. Therefore all products bearing the same UFI have the same mixture composition. The UFI code is an encoded information. This ensures that mixture formulations cannot be viewed by external parties within and outside the supply chain (e.g. competitors).
This code is linked to a central database. It contains safety information for each hazardous mixture. To ensure the flexibility of your production, it is practical to print the code online in the production line directly.

What is the purpose of UFI?

UFI is primarily used in case of an emergency call. UFI enables a unique identification of the mixture. For example, an employee of a poison control centre can use the UFI in combination with the product name to clearly identify the mixture - thus ensuring adequate medical advice. The caller will find all relevant information on the label of the product

Which products must be labelled with UFI code?

If the product is labelled with one of the following hazard pictograms for human exposure, the UFI code must be included on the label or in the safety data sheet. The UFI code always refers to the containing mixture. So if a product or brand name changes, the UFI can be retained.

How can the UFI be generated?

To generate a product-specific UFI, you need your VAT ID number and a mixture-specific formulation number. By using the VAT ID, the uniqueness of the UFI is achieved and overlaps of different manufacturers are excluded. To create the UFI code manually, the VAT ID and the formulation number are entered into the ECHA‘s online tool UFI Generator, which then provides you with the UFI code. 


For companies with an extensive product range, it may be useful to purchase a UFI generator with an interface to your IT system. The b+b UFI Manager with generator function is available as an add-on module in our label design software LabelsPlatform 4 as well as with complete order, article, reporting and label management as an independent b+b site server solution. In addition to CLP-compliance, the latter also enables optional marking of your products and containers with a unique serial number. This lays the foundation for the prevention of product piracy and transparency of your complete supply chain.

formulation number

unspecific

need not be unique

+

VAD registration number

company specific

is unique

 = UFI code clear attribution

If you already use internal recipe codes, you can use them as formulation numbers - provided they are exclusively numerical. In all other cases, you must first assign a new formulation number to your mixtures. The combination of formulation number and VAT registration number is only allowed to be used for the same composition of mixtures. The UFI codes must be communicated to the ECHA (European Chemicals Agency) together with the assigned mixture.

When must the UFI code be adapted?

If the composition of the mixture or a supplied mixture changes, a new UFI code must be assigned to the product. The new UFI as well as the changes must be passed on to ECHA. 


In principle, a mixture can have several UFI codes, if desired. This may be the case, for example, if the same mixture is traded under different brand names - and should not carry the same UFI.


The same UFI code is not allowed to be used for different mixtures.

 
 

Does UFI have to be applied on a label?

If a product is marked with a label, the UFI must be applied to the label. Only in exceptional cases may the UFI be stated in the safety data sheet. This is the case if a product does not receive a label.

What are the regulations regarding the application of UFI on a label?

„UFI“ is an acronym in all official EU languages. UFI must always be used in capital letters and preceded by a 16-digit alphanumeric code - which is divided into four sections by hyphens. There are no specifications regarding font and font size. Labels often vary in size or format, but the UFI must still be placed prominently on the label. Preferably close to the barcode or hazard pictograms. It is up to the company to decide how the UFI is printed or applied to the label - it is important that the UFI can be used as effectively as possible at poison control centre.

Which technologies are suitable for applying UFI to the label?

In general, there are many ways to code your product labels. The choice of the right technology depends, among other things, on: the production environment, production speed, product variety, product formats and the number of products. In the following we will inform you about available solutions.

 
 

Use of label printers 

By the use of label printers the UFI code can be printed on the label. As a partner of well-known manufacturers of label printers, thermal transfer printers and inkjet printers, b+b offers you the right solution for your requirements - depending on the production speed, the number of products to be marked and the production environment. With multi-colour printing systems the hazard symbols can be printed directly onto the label.

Use of print and apply systems

The use of label printing dispensers is usually possible. Here the UFI code is printed on the label and then applied to the product. The new label print dispenser EDS 420i | EDS 620i from b+b is suitable for implementation of the CLP regulation. It is compact, robust and can be flexibly integrated into your production line. Multi-colour print dispenser systems allow the printing of the corresponding hazard symbols directly.

Use of label design and automation software

A label software allows you to design and print your labels directly with UFI code. The label software Labelsplatform 4 from b+b allows you to easily implement the requirements with the help of the add-on module b+b UFI-Manager with generator function.

Use of a UFI generator

For companies with an extensive product range, the purchase of a UFI generator with an interface to your IT system can be useful. In addition to the LP4 UFI Manager, b+b also offers a separate b+b site server solution with complete order, article, reporting and label management. In addition to CLP-compliance, this solution also allows you to optionally label your products and containers with a unique serial number. This is the foundation for the prevention of product piracy and for transparency of your complete supply chain.

Which technology is the best economic solution for your company?

The question of the right technology to implement the new UFI regulation always requires a differentiated assessment of the possibilities and the consideration of your production and requirements. b+b will gladly help you to find the best economic solution for your company to meet the new legal requirements.

 

The deadlines of the CLP Regulation at a glance

Indication of the UFI and other product information in the harmonised format:

  • 01 January 2020: for new mixtures intended for consumer use

  • 01 January 2021: for new mixtures intended for professional use

  • 01 January 2024: for new mixtures intended for industrial use

  • 01 January 2025: for existing mixtures already on the market

From 01 January 2025, the transitional period ends for products already on the market - from this date, all mixtures must contain a UFI on the label.

The product information as well as the UFI code must be communicated to the poison control centre before the deadline, therefore companies should put a UFI code on their label well in advance and before the deadline. In concrete terms this means: companies should plan and implement the creation and printing of the UFI on their labels and corresponding company processes at an early stage - so that the implementation of the new regulation can take place in due time. b+b offers you the turnkey solution for the implementation of the new regulation. With pleasure we consult you - contact us.

White_Paper_UFI_Kennzeichnung von Chemik

Further information

You are looking for a turnkey solution to label your products - contact us!

b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH

b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH is your partner for innovative and reliable labelling and identification technology made to measure. In 1986 b+b was founded in Airlenbach in the Odenwald. Today the internationally operating company employs 115 people in the field of labelling technology.

 

Your requirements and wishes are our focus when implementing your project. From development and planning to complete implementation, our employees will provide you with optimum support.

 

At b+b you receive the complete solution from one source. From software, printing and dispensing systems to fully automatic labelling and identification systems. For more than 30 years b+b has been supplying complete solutions for labelling, serialisation and aggregation for companies from all industries.

email: info@bb-automation.com

phone: +49 (0) 6068 9310 0

 

supprt hotline: +49 (0) 6068 9310 900

support system:  report support case

address:

b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH

Dieselstraße 18

64760 Oberzent

Germany

© 2019 by b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH. All rights reserved.

  • Facebook - Grau Kreis
  • YouTube - Grau Kreis
  • LinkedIn - Grau Kreis
  • Instagram - Grau Kreis

b+b - IN ALLEN BRANCHEN ZUHAUSE

DIE UFI-KENNZEICHNUNG GEFÄHRLICHER GEMISCHE
IN DER CHEMIE

Was Sie über den Unique Formula Identifier (UFI) wissen müssen | 16.04.2020 | EU-Chemikalienverordnung CLP 

Eine neue Kennzeichnungsanforderung von Chemikalien tritt auf Basis der CLP-Verordnung in Kraft – die Uhren ticken! Informieren Sie sich jetzt, damit die Umsetzung der neuen Anforderungen in Ihrem Unternehmen fristgerecht erfolgt.

Ein neues Kennzeichnungselement ist 2020 auf Produkten zu finden: der 16-stellige UFI, ein eindeutiger Rezepturidentifikator – dafür sorgt die Anpassung der sogenannten CLP-Verordnung (EU-Chemikalienverordnung (EG) Nr. 1272/2008). Ab dem 01. Januar 2025 endet die Übergangsfrist: Die Aufbringung des UFI auf den Etiketten von Produkten, die Gesundheitsgefahren oder physikalische Gefahren darstellen können, ist Pflicht. Durch den UFI-Code kann die Giftnotrufzentrale im Falle eines Notrufes eine eindeutige Zuordnung des Produktes durchführen und so eine adäquate medizinische Beratung gewährleisten.

CLP-Verordnung auf einen Blick

Hersteller, Importeure und in der Lieferkette nachgeschaltete Anwender von Produkten, die mit gefährlichen Gemischen befüllt sind, müssen ihre Produktkennzeichnung um einen 16-stelligen alphanumerischen UFI-Code erweitern. Dieser ist ein eindeutiger Rezepturidentifikator und muss auf dem Produktetikett aufgebracht werden.

Die CLP-Verordnung ist im gesamten europäischen Wirtschaftsraum gültig (EWR). Hierzu gehören alle 28 Mitgliedstaaten sowie Norwegen, Island, Lichtenstein und die Schweiz. In der Schweiz gelten zusätzlich zur CLP-Verordnung noch spezielle Regelungen.

Was ist der UFI (Unique Formula Identifier)? 

Der UFI ist ein eindeutiger, 16-stelliger alphanumerischer Rezepturidentifikator. Dieser muss zukünftig auf allen Produktetiketten gefährlicher Gemische aufgebracht werden. Durch den UFI-Code wird ein Zusammenhang zwischen Mixtur und den dazugehörigen Sicherheitsinformationen hergestellt.

Der Giftnotrufzentrale müssen neben dem UFI weitere Informationen mitgeteilt werden: Zusammensetzung, Handelsnamen, Farbe, Verpackung, Produktkategorie und toxikologische Angaben. So kann ein eindeutiger Zusammenhang zwischen den eingereichten Produktinformationen und dem auf den Markt gebrachten Produkt hergestellt werden. Alle Produkte, die denselben UFI tragen, haben somit auch die gleiche Gemischzusammensetzung. Beim UFI-Code handelt es sich um verschlüsselte Daten. Somit ist gewährleistet, dass Gemischrezepturen nicht von externen Stellen inner- und außerhalb der Lieferkette (z.B. Mitbewerber) einzusehen sind.

Der Code ist mit einer zentralen Datenbank verknüpft. Diese enthält Sicherheitsinformationen für jedes gefährliche Gemisch. Um die Flexibilität Ihrer Produktion zu gewährleisten, bietet es sich an, den Code online in der Produktionslinie zu drucken.

Welchen Zweck hat der UFI?

Vorrangig wird der UFI im Falle eines Notrufes genutzt. Der UFI ermöglicht eine eindeutige Identifikation des Gemisches. Beispielsweise kann ein Mitarbeiter der Giftnotrufzentale mit Hilfe des UFI in Kombination mit dem Produktnamen das Gemisch eindeutig zuordnen – somit wird eine adäquate medizinische Beratung gewährleistet. Der Anrufer findet alle dazu relevanten Informationen auf dem Etikett des Produktes.

Welche Produkte müssen mit dem UFI-Code gekennzeichnet werden?

Wenn das Produkt mit einem der folgenden Gefahrenpiktogramme zur menschlichen Gefährdung gekennzeichnet ist, muss der UFI-Code auf dem Etikett oder im Sicherheitsdatenblatt aufgeführt werden. Der UFI-Code bezieht sich immer auf das beinhaltende Gemisch. Ändert sich also ein Produkt- oder Markenname, kann der UFI beibehalten werden.

Wie kann der UFI generiert werden?

Zur Generierung eines produktspezifischen UFI benötigen Sie Ihre Umsatzsteuer-Identnummer und eine gemischspezifische Formulierungsnummer. Durch die Verwendung der USt-ID wird die Eindeutigkeit des UFI erzielt und Überschneidungen verschiedener Hersteller ausgeschlossen. Zur manuellen Erstellung des UFI-Codes werden die USt-ID sowie die Formulierungsnummer in das Online-Tool UFI Generator der ECHA eingegeben, welches Ihnen im Anschluss den UFI-Code zur Verfügung stellt. 

Für Unternehmen mit umfangreicher Produktpalette kann die Anschaffung eines UFI-Generators mit Schnittstelle zu Ihrem IT-System sinnvoll sein. Der b+b UFI-Manager mit Generatorfunktion ist als Erweiterungsmodul in unserer Etikettengestaltungssoftware LabelsPlatform 4 sowie mit kompletten Auftrags-, Artikel-, Reporting- und Labelmanagement als eigenständige b+b Siteserverlösung erhältlich. Letztere ermöglicht zusätzlich zur CLP-compliance auch die optionale Kennzeichnung Ihre Produkte und Gebinde mit einer eindeutigen Seriennummer. Somit ist der Grundstein zur Vorbeugung von Produktpiraterie und zur Transparenz Ihrer kompletten Lieferkette gelegt.
 

Formulierungsnummer

unspezifisch

muss nicht einzigartig sein

+

Umsatzsteuer-ID

unternehmensspezifisch

ist einzigartig

 = UFI-CODE eindeutige Zuordnung

Wenn Sie bereits interne Rezepturcodes verwenden, können Sie diese als Formulierungsnummer verwenden – vorausgesetzt diese sind ausschließlich numerisch. In allen anderen Fällen müssen Sie Ihren Gemischen zunächst eine neue Formulierungsnummer zuweisen. Die Kombination aus Formulierungsnummer und USt-ID darf nur für die gleiche Zusammensetzung von Gemischen verwendet werden. Die UFI-Codes müssen zusammen mit dem zugewiesenen Gemisch an die ECHA (European Chemicals Agency) kommuniziert werden.

Wann muss eine Anpassung des UFI-Codes vorgenommen werden?

Wenn sich die Zusammensetzung des Gemisches oder eines zugelieferten Gemisches ändert, muss dem Produkt ein neuer UFI-Code zugewiesenen werden. Der neue UFI sowie die Änderungen sind der ECHA zwingend weiterzugegeben werden. 

Grundsätzlich kann ein Gemisch, wenn gewünscht, auch über mehrere UFI-Codes verfügen. Dies kann beispielsweise der Fall sein, wenn gleiche Gemische unter verschiedenen Markennamen gehandelt werden - und nicht den gleichen UFI tragen sollen.

Derselbe UFI-Code darf nicht für unterschiedliche Gemische verwendet werden.

 
 

Muss der UFI auf einem Etikett aufgebracht werden?

Sofern ein Produkt mit einem Etikett gekennzeichnet ist, muss der UFI auf das Etikett aufgebracht werden. Nur in Ausnahmefällen darf der UFI im Sicherheitsdatenblatt angegeben werden. Dies ist der Fall, wenn ein Produkt kein Etikett erhält.

Welche Regeln gelten bei der Aufbringung des UFIs auf einem Etikett?

„UFI“ ist ein Akronym in allen EU-Amtssprachen. UFI ist immer in Großbuchstaben zu verwenden und einem 16-stelligen alphanumerischen Code voranzustellen – welcher durch Bindestriche in vier Abschnitte unterteilt wird. Hinsichtlich der Schriftart und Schriftgröße gibt es keine Vorgaben. Etiketten variieren häufig hinsichtlich ihrer Größe oder ihres Formats, trotzdem muss der UFI gut sichtbar auf dem Etikett platziert werden. Am besten in der Nähe des Strichcodes oder der Gefahrenpiktogramme. Die Entscheidung, wie der UFI aufgedruckt oder auf dem Etikett angebracht wird, liegt beim Unternehmen – wichtig ist, dass der UFI bei der Giftnotrufzentrale so wirksam wie möglich eingesetzt werden kann.

Welche Technologien eignen sich für die Aufbringung des UFI auf das Etikett?

Generell gibt es viele Möglichkeiten zur Codierung Ihrer Produktetiketten. Die Auswahl der richtigen Technologie ist unter anderem abhängig von: der Produktionsumgebung, der Produktionsgeschwindigkeit, der Produktvielfalt, der Produktformate und der Anzahl der Produkte. Im Folgenden informieren wir Sie über mögliche Lösungen.

 
 

Einsatz von Etikettendruckern

Durch den Einsatz von Etikettendruckern kann der UFI-Code auf das Etikett gedruckt werden. Als Partner namhafter Hersteller von Etikettendruckern, Thermotransferdruckern und Inkjetdruckern, bietet b+b Ihnen die passende Lösung für Ihre Anforderungen - abhängig der Produktionsgeschwindigkeit, der Anzahl der zu kennzeichnenden Produkte und der Produktionsumgebung. Mit Mehrfarbdrucksystemen können die Gefahrensymbole direkt in das Etikett gedruckt werden.

Einsatz von Druck-Spende-Systemen

Der Einsatz von Etikettendruckspendern ist generell möglich. Hier wird der UFI-Code auf das Etikett gedruckt und anschließend auf das Produkt appliziert. Der neue Etikettendruckspender EDS 420i | EDS 620i von b+b eignet sich für die Umsetzung der CLP-Verordnung. Dieser ist kompakt, robust und lässt sich flexibel in Ihre Produktionslinie integrieren. Mehrfarb-Druck-Spendesysteme ermöglichen den direkten Eindruck der entsprechenden Gefahrensymbole.

Einsatz von Etikettendesign- und Automationsoftware

Mit Hilfe einer Etikettensoftware können Sie Ihre Etiketten direkt mit UFI-Code gestalten und drucken. Die Etikettensoftware Labelsplatform 4 von b+b ermöglicht Ihnen eine einfache Umsetzung der Anforderungen mit Hilfe des Erweiterungsmoduls b+b UFI-Manager mit Generatorfunktion.

Einsatz eines UFI-Generators

Für Unternehmen mit umfangreicher Produktpalette kann die Anschaffung eines UFI-Generators mit Schnittstelle zu Ihrem IT-System sinnvoll sein. Neben dem LP4 UFI-Manager bietet b+b auch eine eigenständige b+b Siteserverlösung mit  kompletten Auftrags-, Artikel-, Reporting- und Labelmanagement. Diese ermöglicht zusätzlich zur CLP-compliance auch die optionale Kennzeichnung Ihre Produkte und Gebinde mit einer eindeutigen Seriennummer. Somit ist der Grundstein zur Vorbeugung von Produktpiraterie und zur Transparenz Ihrer kompletten Supplychain gelegt.

Welche Technologie ist für Ihr Unternehmen die wirtschaftlich beste Lösung?

Die Frage nach der richtigen Technologie zur Umsetzung der neuen UFI-Verordnung bedarf immer einer differenzierten Beurteilung der Möglichkeiten und der Betrachtung Ihrer Produktion und Anforderungen. b+b hilft Ihnen gerne dabei, die wirtschaftlich beste Lösung für Ihr Unternehmen zu finden, um die neuen gesetzlichen Anforderungen zu erfüllen.

 

Die Fristen der CLP-Verordnung auf einen Blick

Angabe des UFI und der sonstigen Produktinformationen im harmonisierten Format:

  • 01. Januar 2020: bei neuen Gemischen, die für die Verwendung durch Verbraucher vorgesehen sind

  • 01. Januar 2021: bei neuen Gemischen, die für die gewerbliche Verwendung vorgesehen sind

  • 01. Januar 2024: bei neuen Gemischen, die für die industrielle Verwendung vorgesehen sind

  • 01. Januar 2025: bei bestehenden Gemischen, die bereits auf dem Markt sind

Ab dem 01. Januar 2025 endet die Übergangsfrist für Produkte, die bereits auf dem Markt sind – ab dann müssen alle Gemische eine UFI auf dem Etikett enthalten.

Die Produktinformationen ebenso wie der UFI-Code müssen der Giftnotrufzentrale bereits vor Ablauf der Frist mitgeteilt werden, deshalb sollten Unternehmen frühzeitig und vor Ablauf der Frist einen UFI-Code auf deren Etikett anbringen. Dies bedeutet konkret: Unternehmen sollten die Erstellung und den Druck des UFI auf deren Etiketten und entsprechende Unternehmensprozesse frühzeitig planen und implementieren – damit die Umsetzung der neuen Verordnung fristgerecht erfolgen kann. b+b bietet Ihnen zur Umsetzung der neuen Verordnung die Komplettlösung aus einer Hand. Gerne beraten wir Sie – kontaktieren Sie uns. 

White_Paper_UFI_Kennzeichnung von Chemik

Weiterführende Informationen

Sie suchen nach einer Komplettlösung zur Etikettierung, Serialisierung und Kennzeichnung Ihrer Produkte - kontaktieren Sie uns!

b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH

Die b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH ist Ihr Partner für innovative und zuverlässige Etikettier- und Kennzeichnungstechnik nach Maß. Im Jahre 1986 wurde die b+b in Airlenbach im Odenwald gegründet. Heute beschäftigt das international agierende Unternehmen 115 Mitarbeiter im Bereich Etikettiertechnik.

 

Ihre Anforderungen und Wünsche stehen bei der Umsetzung Ihres Projekt in unserem Fokus. Von der Entwicklung über die Planung bis hin zur vollständigen Realisierung werden Sie von unseren Mitarbeitern optimal betreut.

 

Bei b+b erhalten Sie die Komplettlösung aus einer Hand. Von der Software über Druck- und Spendesysteme bis hin zu vollautomatischen Etikettier- und Kennzeichnungssystemen. Seit mehr als 30 Jahren liefert  b+b Komplettlösungen zur Etikettierung, Serialisierung und Aggregation von Unternehmen aus allen Branchen.

Etikettieranlagen

Branchen

Verbrauchsmaterial

Quick Links

Dieselstraße 18, D-64760 Oberzent

+49 6068 9310 0

info@bb-automation.com

© 2019 by b+b Automations- und Steuerungstechnik GmbH. All rights reserved.

Druck- und Spendesysteme

Serialisierung

Etikettendrucker

Karriere

  • Facebook - Grau Kreis
  • YouTube - Grau Kreis
  • LinkedIn - Grau Kreis
  • Instagram - Grau Kreis